If i could invent anything..

September 29, 2010

It’s difficult to know exactly what I would invent, but after scanning my mum’s kitchen, at all the stuff just sitting around, I realised that each and everyone of these appliances was invented by someone, somewhere, at some point in time. Even the laptop I’m typing on, and the internet I’m using to post on my blogpage. All of these inventions started with just an idea, which probably seemed impossible at the time, or even crazy.

If I could invent anything, I would invent a device that could transmit your thoughts and more importantly your emotions to another person. I think this would be the ultimate advance in communications. Words can often be very shallow when compared to the real emotions of human beings. By expressing happiness or sadness, anger or elation, it is through our emotions that we connect with each other. People are undoubtedly emotional creatures, their actions and decisions are driven by emotional intelligence.

With the advent of social media, brands need to find new ways to emotionally engage their consumers. I believe my invention would help brands understand their consumers, and consequently allow consumers to pursue a more honest relationship with a brand’s true ethos. As consumers, it is only those experiences that we connect with emotionally that compel us to share content. Consumers choose who they follow, what stories to read and those they share with. Social media is naturally powered by emotion.Therefore, my invention would help assign emotion to a brand, helping it turn human and foster a community of consumers.

Leave a Reply

