Addictive Social Networking through gaming.

January 23, 2011

Words with Friends: Social Networking with friends combined with  a bit of intellectual competition.

Words With Friends App

 

In my opinion (but once you’ve tried it, I’m sure you will agree), this is one of the best gaming apps around. Words with Friends relies on social networking to generate your competitors. You can play up to 20 people at any one time, whether its your mates, co-workers, family members or even someone you’ve just sat next to on the train. Or if you lack any from the previous list you can create a game with a randomly selected competitor.

The game also incorporates an online chat feature so that players can discuss the gameboard, or anything else for that matter. This social networking element is unique to Words with Friends currently (although check out Chess with Friends, if that’s more your style). The other advantage to this app is that you can play it anywhere at any time. For example, occasionally I will wait until it is my turn in every game so that I can have a solid scrabble session, other times I will play my move as soon as I get a notification that it’s my turn. Games only expire after 11 days, so you have the freedom to play when you want.

Leave a Reply

